Jeannette Owens
Media Relations Office

December 23, 2011
RELEASE : 11-080
NASA Glenn Employees Receive Awards for Exceptional Service
CLEVELAND -- NASA's Glenn Research Center in Cleveland recently honored individuals and project teams who have made exceptional contributions in science, technology, engineering, craftsmanship and administrative services.

Glenn Center Director Ray Lugo and Stephen D. Anthony, special agent in charge of the Cleveland Office of the FBI, presented the awards at an annual ceremony earlier this year.

The center's most prestigious engineering award, the Steven V. Szabo Engineering Excellence Award, was presented to the Dynamic Interaction Simulation Test Team: James R. Davic, Strongsville; Dean P. Petters, Euclid; Alban D. Seigneur, Wadsworth; John T. Yim, Cleveland; and ASRC Aerospace Corporation employees, Andrew M. O'Connor, Cleveland Heights and Leonard J. Miller, Parma.

The team was recognized for its outstanding contributions and excellence in engineering in the development of the dynamic interaction simulations test for the Orion Project.

The Abe Silverstein Medal was awarded to Dr. Gary W. Hunter of Oberlin, for exceptional technical achievement and outstanding leadership in performing pioneering research and commercialization of chemical gas sensor micro-systems for NASA missions.

Three skilled technicians were recognized for excellence in craftsmanship and received the center's most prestigious Craftsmanship Award:

Gary E. Gorecki, Hinckley, for providing invaluable talents in the assembly of highly sensitive cables required for space flight demonstration of high-speed data on the Communications, Navigation, and Networking Reconfigurable Test-bed (CoNNeCT) project.

Thomas V. Hudach, Parma Heights, for providing invaluable talents for the installation of highly sensitive cables required for space flight demonstration of high-speed data on the Communications, Navigation, and Networking Reconfigurable Test-bed (CoNNeCT) project.

Joseph F. Kerka, Grainger Township, for exemplary skills, attention to detail and creativity in solving manufacturing and assembly concerns, and cooperation in working effortlessly as a member of the Communications, Navigation, and Networking Reconfigurable Test-bed (CoNNeCT) project.

The Diversity Leadership Award was awarded to Gary L. Crawford, Streetsboro, for development of, and continuous work with the Engineers and Technicians of the Future program.

The Support Assistant/Clerical Awards recognized eight civil service, contract support service assistants and clerical personnel for exceptional performance:

Sandra L. Clay, Brook Park, for outstanding support to the Space Processes and Experiments Division.

Lisa M. O'Connor, Elyria, for outstanding contributions to the Radioisotope Power Systems Program and the program formulation process.

Cherie L. Westbrooks, Cleveland, for development and implementation of the administrative systems necessary to establish the Safety and Mission Assurance Management Review Board, e-Rooms, document review process, and other initiatives.

Charlotte M. Kwiat, Fairview Park, an employee of Stringer Ghaffarian Technologies (SGT), Inc., for exceptional clerical and administrative support and strong customer focus.

Ruth Ann Parise, Medina, an employee of SGT, Inc., for providing exceptional administrative support to the NASA Safety Center's Directorate Office.

Dawn A. Schneider, Sandusky, an employee of SGT Inc., for exceptional clerical, administrative and interpersonal skills, and the ability to work skillfully with team members.

Beverly J. Smigel, North Royalton, an employee of SGT, Inc., for outstanding communications and highly reliable administrative skills and an independent and fearless approach to solving problems.

Renee Smiley, Garfield Heights, an employee of SGT, Inc., for excellent working skills, innovative ideas and can-do attitude. Nikki D. Brown, Berea, was the recipient of the Procurement Person of the Year award for negotiating, awarding and administering contracts with small businesses.

The Business Development and Partnership Program Support Team received the Technical Team of the Year award for procuring the services of multiple small businesses and opening up collaborative opportunities with other government agencies.

Team members included: Karen S. Crandall, Lakewood; Dr. Gary T. Seng, Olmsted Township; Dr. Robert J. Shaw, Fairview Park; and Cheryl A. Washam, Temperance, Mich.

Jeffrey G. Schreiber, Medina, an employee of Alphaport, Inc., was named Program Person of the Year for working with small businesses on the radioisotope power systems and for contributions to the Small Business Innovative Research Program.

Mainthia Technologies, Inc. (MTI) was named Small Business Prime Contractor of the Year for efforts to promote small business opportunities under the MTI contract, including participation in the Small Business Administration Mentor-Protege Program.

ZIN Technologies, Inc. was named Small Business Subcontractor of the Year for mentoring other small businesses to develop capabilities, therefore providing additional quality support to NASA.

Universities Space Research Association was named the Large Business Prime Contractor of the Year for promoting small business opportunities including seeking Woman-Owned, HUBZone, 8(a), Small Disadvantaged and Service-Disabled Veteran-Owned small businesses.


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.