Sally Harrington
NASA Glenn Research Center

December 6, 2011
RELEASE : 11-076
Astronauts Recognize Accomplishments of Glenn Workers
CLEVELAND -- Astronaut Mike Foreman recently presented Silver Snoopy awards at NASA's Glenn Research Center to seven Glenn employees and two support service contractors.

The Silver Snoopy award reflects the astronauts' personal recognition of workers who have made outstanding contributions to the safety and success of human spaceflight. Less than one percent of workers in the space program receive the award annually.

Foreman, a veteran of two space flights, has logged more than 637 hours in space, including 32 hours and 19 minutes during five spacewalks.

The following recipients were presented with a sterling silver Snoopy lapel pin, a certificate of appreciation and a commendation letter.

Lynn A. Capadona, a resident of North Ridgeville, received the award for demonstrating leadership in developing and managing the Orion system requirements, ensuring the vehicle is designed to meet mission and safety requirements.

Thomas M. Doehne, an Avon resident, received the award for his outstanding leadership of the system engineering team for the Ares 1-X Upper Stage Simulator project, ensuring successful integration of the vehicle and completion of major milestones leading up to a successful launch.

Louis J. Ghosn resides in Strongsville. He received the award for playing a pivotal role in delineating the root cause for the coating separation observed on the shuttle orbitor nose cap and wing leading edge panels and for providing the solution which greatly enhanced the safety and reliability of the orbiter.

Kevin E. Konno, a resident of North Ridgeville, received the award for his many important contributions to the Orion Crew/Service Module development program, which helped to ensure a safe, reliable and cost effective mode of transportation for the next generation of astronauts.

Lisa M. Lambert, a Strongsville resident, received the award for the integral part she played in the space shuttle certification process and in ensuring that the International Space Station Program was safely accomplished.

Raymond J. Margie, an employee of ZIN Technologies, Inc., resides in Akron. He received the award for his significant contributions in the development of the Constrained Vapor Bubble flight modules, which was key to the ultimate success of the experiment.

Leah M. McIntyre, a resident of Strongsville, received the award for her leadership and collaboration skills in developing and managing the Orion external interface requirements, ensuring the vehicle will properly interface and function with external systems.

Nelson Morales, a Lakewood resident, received the award for his superior accomplishments in developing new analysis methodology and computer software, which significantly enhanced the vehicle design and analytical processes, and for his technical expertise in the structures discipline, which played a pivotal role in the development of new launch vehicles.

Tim Schmidt, an employee of Trilion Quality Systems, resides in Richland Hills, N.Y. He received the award for his critical contributions to the construction and operation of an imaging system, which enabled the shuttle program to press forward to the safe and successful launch of space shuttle Discovery on February 24, 2011.

Photographs are available upon request.

For more information on Human Space Flight, visit:

For more information about Glenn Research Center, visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.