Katherine K. Martin
Media Relations Office

July 23, 2007
RELEASE : 07-023
Top Craftsmen, Engineers and Researchers Recognized at NASA Glenn
Cleveland--Those who work behind the scenes in the initial stages of designing and building better aircraft and space vehicles were recently recognized at NASA's Glenn Research Center.

One of the three areas recognized is the Steven V. Szabo Engineering Excellence Award, the most prestigious engineering award at Glenn. It recognizes excellence in engineering that contributes to Glenn's mission and must be a current and specific contribution resulting in an engineering application that significantly helped solve an important or difficult problem.

This award was recently given to the Encapsulated Service Module Team for a unique design for the Orion Crew Exploration Service Module that resulted in a significant weight savings and allowed the module to meet its major power and heat rejection requirements.

The members of this team that were recognized are Daniel A. Catalano, Parma Heights; Thomas O. Cressman, Berea; Thomas W. Goodnight, Columbia Station; Timothy M. Roach, Oberlin; David R. McCurdy, Cuyahoga Falls and Reza Zinolabedi, Brunswick.

The second award announced includes two categories of the Craftsmanship Award. These awards are given to craftsmen who made a specific contribution that resulted in the fabrication of a component or system that required a high degree of skill and imagination.

In the first category, assembly and buildup technologies, Michael Perez, North Royalton, won the award for his contribution to the Great Lakes Environmental Aerial Monitoring Mission. Perez took several precision components including a Glenn-designed point spectrometer and hyperspectral imager with commercial, off-the-shelf components and assembled them with custom mounts he designed and fabricated into a flight box that was mounted on the side of Glenn's T-34 aircraft used for the mission.

In the second category of manufacturing technologies, the Craftsmanship Award was given to the Hypersonic Inlet Mode Transition Manufacturing Team for the fabrication and instrumentation of a hypersonic inlet using machining and instrumentation trades. This one-of-a-kind design and experimental model will be tested to map aircraft inlet performance, boundary layer control configurations and bleed flow rate for Mach number ranges. Members of this team who were recognized are Al V. Blaze, North Royalton; Timothy A. Dunlap, Strongsville; Timothy J. Heineke, Old Brooklyn; Walter A. Wozniak, Parma; Tonya L. Merriweather, South Euclid; Steven M. Miller, Geneva; and Chris J. Conrad, Homerville.

The third award category recognized is the Abe Silverstein Medal, for outstanding research contributions that have led to widely recognized practical applications. Kelly S. Carney, Grafton, this year's recipient, was given this medal for the critical analytical technologies that he developed to enable the space shuttle's return to flight in 2005.


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.