Search Glenn



Text Size

Katherine K. Martin
Media Relations Office
July 13, 2006
RELEASE : 06-035
NASA Glenn Recognizes Craftsmen, Engineers and Researchers
The ultimate in knowledge, skill and imagination -- what it takes to power an airplane, launch a rocket or fly to the moon -- was recently recognized at NASA's Glenn Research Center, Cleveland.

One of the three areas recognized is the Steven V. Szabo Engineering Excellence Award, the most prestigious engineering award at Glenn. It recognizes a current and specific contribution that must have resulted in an engineering application that significantly helped solve an important or difficult problem.

This award was recently given to the G2 Flywheel Team for a revolutionary energy storage system based on flywheel technology. A flywheel is an electro-mechanical battery system and the new G2 Flywheel overcomes many drawbacks of current battery systems, including longer service life, environmental/disposal concerns and charge-discharge limits. The members of this team that were recognized are Barbara H. Kenny, Bay Village; Kevin E. Konno, North Ridgeville; Walter Santiago, Avon; Larry M. Trase, Litchfield; and Jeffrey J. Trudell, Rocky River.

The second award announced includes two categories of the Craftsmanship Award. These awards are given to craftsmen who made a specific contribution that resulted in the fabrication of a component or system that required a high degree of skill and imagination.

In the first category, assembly and buildup, the Crew Exploration Vehicle (CEV) Service Module Mockup Team was recognized for its creation of a full-scale mockup of the CEV service module. This was done to demonstrate Glenn's capability to fabricate large flight articles. The manufacturing leads for work on the mockup were Joseph F. Kerka, Medina, and Jose A. Ayala, Lorain.

In the second category of manufacturing technologies, the Craftsmanship Award was given to the Fan Trailing Edge Blowing Project Team for designing and testing an engine fan blade that was representative of a modern high bypass ratio turbofan engine. The tests of these fan blades have supplied the first acoustic test data for evaluating fan trailing edge blowing. This test data can now be applied to simulated jet engine takeoff/landing conditions at realistic tip speeds. Members of this team who were recognized are Herbert A. Lawrence, North Ridgeville and Jesus M. Lopez, Vermilion.

The third award category recognized is the Abe Silverstein Medal, for outstanding research contributions that have led to widely recognized practical applications. Dr. Meng-Seng Liou, Westlake, is this year's recipient for his outstanding contributions to the area of computational fluid dynamics that have been adopted successfully into several NASA, commercial, and other external organizations' computer codes.


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.