Search Glenn


Text Size


For Release: May 18, 2001

James M. Giomini
Media Relations Office

Local Technicians and Researchers Honored

Researchers and technicians whose extraordinary skills and abilities ensure NASA continued preeminence in many technology fields were recently honored with several NASA Glenn Research Center awards.

The Craftsmanship Award recognizes excellence in craftsmanship and innovation in two categories, one for assembly and buildup and the other for manufacturing. Awardees are selected from Glenn's highly skilled model makers, machinists, electrical and electronics technicians who support research and technology efforts at the Center.

Michael Johnston was awarded in the assembly and buildup category for his unique expertise in the design and fabrication of experimental packages used in the 2.2-Second and Zero-G Drop Towers as well as the KC-135 microgravity research aircraft.

Herbert Lawrence and Robert Detamore received the award in the manufacturing category for their work in the Active Noise Control Facility. This group of technicians developed and produced carbon composite-skinned duraform internal vaned blades, which are critical components for the reduction of aircraft engine noise research programs at Glenn.

Christopher Hughes, Tony Shook, Cameron Cunningham, William Thompson and Paul Tavernelli from Glenn and Ashwin Shah of Sest, Inc., were awarded the Szabo Engineering Excellence Award for their work with the Rotor Alone Nacelle (RAN). This multi-disciplinary team acquired critical data allowing researchers to isolate and study individual components of aircraft engines with the goal to dramatically reduce noise. The unique research capability created by this team allows researchers to study the fundamental physics of fan noise in a realistic environment. This breakthrough will promote more thorough understanding and reduction of aircraft noise near airports.

The Szabo Engineering Excellence Award was established to honor the memory of Stephen V. Szabo, Jr., director of engineering at the Lewis Research Center from 1986 to 1993 and is the most prestigious engineering award given by Glenn.

The recipients will be recognized at the Center's annual awards ceremony later this year.

# # #


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.