Search Glenn



Text Size


For Release: June 14, 2000

Pamelia Caswell
Media Relations Office

Summer of 'Give and Get' for Professors at NASA Glenn

This month, 45 guest researchers from 28 colleges and universities around the country and the world will begin a summer of collaboration, research and learning at the NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, OH.

The guests, participants in the Glenn summer faculty fellowship program, will delve into diverse subjects -- from Earth science to rocket science. A few highlights of the summer activities are the fellows' work on improving the dissemination of satellite imagery of Ohio farmlands; a novel idea for sound suppression within a jet engine; a technique to make jet engines virtually emissionless, that is, very clean; improving the durability of ion rocket engine components; and developing testing techniques for new types of batteries.

Although most are engineers, the fellows include geologists, chemists, physicists and astronomers. Each fellow works with a Glenn professional peer and has use of Glenn's many research laboratories and facilities such as high-speed wind tunnels for studying jet engine performance at flight conditions and drop towers for Earth-based studies of low-gravity conditions. Weekly lectures on technical subjects and a several social events round out the summer program.

"The summer faculty fellowship program is tightly woven into the fabric of Glenn, and the research staff eagerly anticipates the arrival of professors each summer," said Francis J. Montegani, university programs manager and Glenn codirector of the program. "Their brief stays with us often develop into lasting professional relationships and long-term benefits to our programs."

The summer faculty fellowship program at Glenn is conducted by Glenn and Case Western Reserve University working through OAI (the Ohio Aerospace Institute), both of Cleveland, OH. The other program codirectors are Joseph M. Prahl, chairman of the department of mechanical and aerospace engineering at Case Western Reserve University, and Theo G. Keith, Jr., vice president for programs at OAI.

Since 1964, NASA and the American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE) have supported summer fellowships for full-time engineering and science educators at U.S colleges and universities. The major goals of the fellowships are to improve engineering education in the United States by reinvigorating faculty with new knowledge and experiences and to infuse NASA research with fresh ideas and approaches.

The list of the year 2000 Glenn summer faculty fellows and their universities follows:

Name University City & state (&/or country)
Jennifer T. Bernhard University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Urbana IL
Vincent R. Capece University of Kentucky Lexington KY
Asher A. Rubinstein Tulane University New Orleans LA
Thomas M. Ticich Centenary College of Louisiana Shreveport LA
Alfred T. D Agostino College of Notre Dame of Maryland Baltimore MD
Brenda S. Henderson Kettering University Flint MI
Subrata Roy Kettering University Flint MI
William W. Liou Western Michigan University Kalamazoo MI
Andrew D. Jones, Jr. Benedict College Columbia NC
Jennifer A. Kadlowec Rowan University Salisbury NC
Mohammad H. Naraghi Manhattan College Bronx NY
Joseph G. Gaskin Oswego State University Oswego NY
H. (Mike) M. Cheung University of Akron Akron OH
Loren H. Dill University of Akron Akron OH
Malik E. Elbuluk University of Akron Akron OH
George C. Giakos University of Akron Akron OH
Thomas D. Radcliff University of Akron Akron OH
Scott D. Sawyer University of Akron Akron OH
Okechukwu C. Ugweje University of Akron Akron OH
Richard A. Beck University of Cincinnati Cincinnati OH
Kenneth P. Roenker University of Cincinnati Cincinnati OH
Rama S. Gorla Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Murad Hizlan Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Walter M. Kocher Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Paul P. Lin Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Janche Sang Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Jerzy T. Sawicki Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Thomas W. Taylor Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Fuqin Xiong Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Donald F. Zeller Cleveland State University Cleveland OH
Michael P. Setter John Caroll University Cleveland OH
Guru Subramanyam University of Dayton Dayton OH
Catherine M. Bakes Kent State University Kent OH
Charles A. Martin Kent State Universtiy Kent OH
Dwight L. Myers East Central University Ada OK
Heath F. Hofmann Pennsylvania State University University Park PA
Richard E. Stevens Whitworth College Spokane WA
Craig A. Campbell, Jr. Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College Hayward WI
Osama M. Jadaan University of Wisconsin-Platteville Platteville WI
Wei Cao West Virginia Institute of Technology Montgomery WV
Kathleen Meehan West Virginia University Morgantown WV
Jorge E. Garces Centro Atomico Bariloche San Carlos de Bariloche Rio Negro, Argentina
Aryeh A. Frimer Bar Ilan University Ramat Gan Israel
Jose A. Colucci University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez Mayaguez Puerto Rico
Juan C. Cersosimo University of Puerto Rico Rio Piedras Puerto Rico

# # #


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.