Search Glenn



Text Size


April 24, 2000

Pamelia Caswell
Media Relations Office

NASA Glenn Honors Its Innovators

The NASA Glenn Research Center has announced the year 2000 winners of its most prestigious Center-level awards, given to researchers and technicians for their extraordinary innovation in carrying out Glenn's projects and research.

The recipient of the Abe Silverstein Medal is Bruce Steinetz, a mechanical engineer whose high-temperature braided rope seals are being used to solve industrial as well as aerospace sealing problems. Steinetz conducts seals research for use in future space transportation engines and advanced aircraft turbine engines. The Abe Silverstein Medal commemorates the long and fruitful career of the former director of Glenn.

The Craftsmanship Award recognizes excellence in craftsmanship and innovation by its skilled technicians, model makers, machinists, electronics technicians and other trades persons who support testing at Glenn. For 2000 two selections were made, one for assembly and the other for manufacturing:

Robert Roman for his contributions to the development of the NSTAR (NASA Solar Technology Applications Readiness) ion engine and the manufacture and assembly of the flight engine that is now propelling the Deep Space 1 spacecraft.

Kenneth Guinta, Jesus Lopez, Jerome Priebe and Robert Walter for their manufacture of high precision stainless steel instrumentation blades, which will be used to measure temperatures and pressures inside an operating aircraft turbine engine.

The 1999 Distinguished Publication Award went to materials researchers Phillip Abel, Guillermo Bozzolo (Ohio Aerospace Institute), John Ferrante (retired), Brian Good, Frank Honecy and Ronald Noebe for the paper entitled, "Surface Segregation in Multicomponent Systems: Modeling of Surface Alloys and Alloy Surfaces." The paper, which appeared in the journal Computational Materials Science, describes a physics-based mathematical model for predicting the behavior of alloys with many constituents. The research team developed the model to speed the search for materials that can withstand the high temperatures and stresses of advanced aircraft and space transportation engines.

The Steven V. Szabo Engineering Excellence Award went to Steven Bauman, James Bridges, Raymond Castner, Gail Perusek, Timothy Roach and Reza Zinolabedini (Dynacs Engineering Co.) for their work in designing a moveable microphone array for measuring jet engine noise. The microphones ride a 150-foot track mounted along the ceiling of a domed testing facility. Because the microphones can be precisely placed, noise tests of new engine designs can be completed more quickly and more accurately. The Szabo Engineering Excellence Award was established to honor the memory of Steven V. Szabo, Jr., director of engineering at Lewis Research Center from1986 to 1993.

The recipients will be presented with their medals or plaques at the Center's annual awards ceremony later this year.

# # #


- end -

text-only version of this release

NASA Glenn Research Center news releases are available automatically by sending an Internet electronic mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank. The system will reply with a confirmation via e-mail of each subscription. You must reply to that message to begin your subscription.
To unsubscribe, address an e-mail message to:
Leave the subject and body blank.