Text Size
Students Learn On The Job
September 21, 2011

photo of students in front of SR-71 who participated in summer of 2011 programs at Dryden.From left, summer students included Stephanie Sodergren, Mark Li (INSPIRE chaperone), Kevin Heath, Tatiana Roy, August Nanz, Jessica Pfeffer, Alexis Bartels, Rebekah Morris (INSPIRE chaperone), Kaitlyn Fiechtner, Casie Clark, Tyler Schmalz, Steven Queen, Christopher Romano, Austin Miller, Landon Tango, Allaina Honda, Gelliza Gervacio, Jill Pestana, Luis Urbina, Hanna Calvert, Kelsey Moser, Rachel Sousa, Travis Whitlow, Julianna Plumb, Stacey Grant, Robert Peralta, Ryan Termath, Ryan Izard, Malcolm Blow, Zachary Brown, Melanie Price, David Brunell, Timmy Mbaya, James Hobin, Alexander Adams and Alex Zelhofer. (NASA Photo / Tony Landis)
› View Larger Image
Sixty-six people involved in 14 student programs at Dryden had opportunities to learn what it's like working at a NASA center. Students are listed under the program in which they participated.

  • The Achieving Competence in Computing, Engineering and Space Science, or ACCESS, program is designed for undergraduate and graduate students with disabilities who have strong backgrounds in science and are pursuing technical careers. Students work with scientists and engineers in an area compatible with their skills and interests. Representing the program at Dryden this summer were Christopher Romano and William Martin.
  • The Aerospace Education Research and Operations, or AERO, Institute awards internships to students for work assignments at Dryden that are made based on the needs of the center's branches or requirements of funding sources, such as the Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate at NASA Headquarters. This year's recipients were David Brunell, Jill Pestana, Jonah (Yoni) Saltzman, Matthew Nicholas and Stephanie Sodergren.
  • Aeronautics Scholarship Program students were Ryan Izard, William (Bill) O'Neill and Alex Zelhofer. NASA's Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate awards scholarships and internships to undergraduate and graduate students focused on aeronautical research and related degree programs. Each year, the ARMD awards undergraduate students with two-year scholarships of up to $15,000 per year and a paid summer internship.
  • The Cooperative Education program, also known as the Student Career Experience program, integrates college-level academic study with work experience at a NASA center. Students are eligible for permanent employment after successfully completing their education and meeting work requirements. Students working at Dryden this summer were Devin Boyle, Michael Dorval, David Klassman, Tyler Latsha, Justin McCarthy, Monique Pierre-Louis, Scott Schultz, Teresa Specht, Alexander Stuber, Peter Suh, Samuel Sullivan and Seth Trey. On Aug. 29, five new fall co-op students arrived: Casie Clark, Paul Dees, Stewart Jacobs, Ethan Nieman and Lucio Ortiz. Jason Nelson returned as a co-op student on Aug. 29.
  • Casie Clark, Cristina Donastorg and Melanie Price were 2010 recipients of the Minority University Student in Technology, or MUST, program. The scholarship covers half of a student's tuition up to $10,000 for undergraduate students in engineering and technology in return for work at NASA centers. Participants are limited to U.S citizens pursuing an undergraduate degree in science, technology, engineering or mathematics at a college or university in the United States who are members of an underrepresented group such as women, ethnic minorities, or persons with disabilities.
  • The Interdisciplinary National Science Project Incorporating Research and Education Experience, or INSPIRE, program is a multi-tiered, year-round initiative designed for students in grades 9-12 who are interested in science, technology, engineering and mathematics education and careers. Dryden's INSPIRE students were Alexis Bartels, Gelliza Gervacio, Kevin Heath, James Hoblin, Allaina Honda, Austin Miller, August (Auggie) Nanz, Jessica Pfeffer, Tatiana Roy and Landon Tango.
  • Four students, Hanna Calvert, Stephen Haviland, Timmy Mbaya and Luis Urbina, were part of the National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program. The program offers fellowships, scholarships and research opportunities to undergraduate and graduate students attending universities that are part of the consortium.
  • The Science Teacher and Researcher, or STAR, program provides opportunities to science teachers or researchers to work at Dryden. This year's awardees were Kaitlyn Fieschtner, Steven Queen, Tyler Schmalz, Ryan Termath and Michelle Wen.
  • Contractor Tybrin Corp. works with Dryden's technical branches to fill summer student positions. Participants this year were Andrew La Riva, Cameron Law and Stephanie Reynolds.
  • NASA sponsors the Undergraduate Student Research Program, or USRP, in which undergraduate students across the United States may apply for a 10-week summer session designed to attract students interested in fields and disciplines aligned with NASA's research and development mission.

    The USRP students were Alexander Adams, Zachary Brown, Christopher Busby, Victor Loera, Kelsey Moser, Robert Peralta and Julianna Plumb. Three new USRP students, Michael Jermann, Lianne Lewis and Adam Phun, arrived Aug. 29 for the 15-week fall session including.
  • Stacey Grant worked at Dryden as a representative of the Tribal Colleges and University project and Malcolm Blow was involved at research supported by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.
  • Dryden also supported two graduate students' fellowships this summer. Anthony (Tony) D'Amato was awarded a continuation of his Graduate Student Researchers Fellowship and Neil Dhingra was awarded with the Harriet G. Jenkins Pre-Doctoral Fellowship.
Image Token: 
Image Token: 
Page Last Updated: August 14th, 2013
Page Editor: NASA Administrator