Search Ames


News Releases

Text Size

Michael Mewhinney
NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.
Phone: (650) 604-3937/9000

July 17, 2006
NASA Completes Nationwide Search For Innovative Teachers
NASA has selected 20 award-winning teachers from the nation’s K-12 classrooms to join a nationwide network of teacher-mentors to help inspire the next generation of explorers.

Teachers selected for the Airspace Systems Education Cohort (ASEC) will receive special hands-on training at the ASEC Summer Institute, July 19-22, 2006, at NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif. Now in its second year, the ASEC program uses a train-the-trainer model of professional development to engage participants in scientific inquiry at the leading edge of education and technology.

“This year, two ASEC alumni from the 2005 class, James Nair and Gary Dewey, are returning to NASA Ames to help facilitate the seminars and act as mentors to the new members,” said Liza Coe of the Education Division at NASA Ames.

“After attending tours, lectures and workshops at the ASEC Summer Institute, the 20 teachers will return to their educational communities and train others in the use of NASA-developed classroom materials,” she added.

These interactive, multimedia programs, which are developed for the Airspace Systems Educational Cohort by the NASA Ames educational technology team, can be found at

According to Coe, nearly 70 applicants competed for the opportunity to join the ASEC. The teacher candidates endured a rigorous and competitive selection process, including a review by a committee of NASA researchers, educators and program managers.

“The teachers selected for the program have an impressive array of skills, interests and backgrounds that will serve NASA well as they return to their districts,” Coe said. In addition to their own students, the teachers will strive to inform 75 of their colleagues about the new NASA research and educational technology.

The ASEC class of 2006 includes Ruth Oliver, Owens Cross Roads, Ala.; Eileen Bradford, Covelo, Calif.; David Ewart, Redding, Calif.; Danny Jaques, Ignacio, Colo.; Bonnie Sutton, Washington, DC; Ginger Akason, Waukee, Iowa; Vana Richards, Emmett, Idaho; Joy Reeves, Homewood, Ill.; Brandon Gillette, Shawnee, Kan.; Christy Flynn, Olla, La.; Belinda Jackson, Bogalusa, La.; Sara Conlon, Norton, Mass.; Joanne Letwinch, Shamong, N.J.; Darlene Black, Marlow, Okla.; Kenneth Graupmann, Kadoka, S.D.; Leesa Hubbard, Lebanon, Tenn.; Maureen Adams, Lampasas Texas; Carolyn Bushman, Providence, Utah; Kristy Schneider, La Center, Wash.; Jessica Van Son, Longview, Wash.; James Nair (2005 alumnus), Greenfield Center, N.Y.; and Gary Dewey, (2005 alumnus), Holland, Mich.

The ASEC was created at NASA Ames under the sponsorship of the Airspace Systems Program as part of its commitment to NASA’s mission to ‘inspire the next generation of explorers’ to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and math. The Airspace Systems Program is a division of NASA’s Aeronautics Research Mission Directorate located in Washington, D.C.

For additional information about ASEC visit:

For information about NASA and agency programs, please visit:


- end -

text-only version of this release

To receive Ames news releases via e-mail, send an e-mail with the word "subscribe" in the subject line to To unsubscribe, send an e-mail to the same address with "unsubscribe" in the subject line.

NASA Image Policies