Text Size

Astronauts Earn Honors
Robert Cabana, John C. Stennis Space Center Director Image above: Robert Cabana, John C. Stennis Space Center Director. Photo credit: NASA/SSC

Bryan O'Connor, NASA's Chief of Safety and Mission Assurance Image above: Bryan O'Connor is NASA's Chief of Safety and Mission Assurance. Photo credit: NASA/Bill Ingalls.

Astronauts Robert D. Cabana and Bryan D. O'Connor along with former astronauts John E. Blaha and Loren J. Shriver was added to an elite list of Astronaut Hall of Fame members that includes Neil Armstrong, John Glenn, Alan Shepard, Jim Lovell, Sally Ride and John Young.

A public ceremony to commemorate the veteran astronauts was held on May 3 at the Kennedy Space Center Visitor Complex in Florida.

The 2008 inductees were selected by a committee of former NASA officials and flight controllers, journalists, historians and Hall of Fame astronauts.

With four space shuttle missions to his credit, Cabana was the commander of the first International Space Station assembly mission. Currently, he is the director of NASA's Stennis Space Center in Mississippi.

O'Connor was shuttle pilot on mission STS-61B and commander of STS-40, the first shuttle mission dedicated to life science studies. He now serves NASA as the Chief, Safety and Mission Assurance with responsibility for the safety, reliability, maintainability and quality assurance of all NASA programs.

Over the span of 17 years, Blaha flew on five space shuttle missions and set the American men's space record for time in space during his four months on orbit. Blaha retired from NASA in 1997 and is active in private industry.

Shriver, a veteran of three shuttle flights, commanded the STS-31 mission to deploy the Hubble Space Telescope and served at NASA's Kennedy Space Center as the Launch and Payload Processing deputy director from 1997 to 2000.

This esteemed assembly is the seventh group of space shuttle astronauts named to the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame and brings the total number of inductees to 70.

Elaine M. Marconi
NASA's John F. Kennedy Space Center