Feature

Text Size

Satellite Sees Earthquake Region in Southwestern Mexico
03.20.12
 
GOES 13 image of Mexico with clear skies
This visible image from NOAA's GOES-13 satellite was captured at 1815 UTC (2:15 p.m. EST), just 13 minutes after the 7.6 magnitude earthquake centered in southwestern Mexico's Oaxaca state. The image, created at NASA, shows a virtually cloud-free sky over that region. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project


Just after a major earthquake occurred in southwestern Mexico on March 20,2012, NASA produced a satellite view of the region from NOAA's GOES-13 satellite showing virtually cloud-free skies overhead.

The U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) reported a 7.6 magnitude earthquake occurred today, March 20, 2012 in Oaxaca, Mexico. Oaxaca is one of 31 Mexican states. It is located in southwestern Mexico and bordered by the Pacific Ocean.

A visible image of southwestern Mexico was obtained from NOAA's GOES-13 satellite at 1815 UTC (2:15 p.m. EST), just 13 minutes after the 7.6 magnitude earthquake centered in southwestern Mexico's Oaxaca state. The image shows a virtually cloud-free sky over that region. The image was created by the NASA GOES Project, located at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.

According to the USGS Web site, the quake occurred on Tuesday, March 20, 2012 at 18:02:48 UTC (2:02 p.m. EST/11:02 a.m. PST). It was centered near 16.662° North latitude and 98.188° West longitude. The USGS report indicated that the quake occurred about 17.5 km (10.9 miles) underground.

The epicenter of the quake was in the Oaxaca Region of Mexico. The epicenter was located 25 km (15 miles) east of Ometepec, Guerrero; 42 km (26 miles) north-northwest of Pinotepa Nacional, Oaxaca; and 186 km (115 miles) east of Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico.

For updates on the quake from USGS, visit:
http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/usc0008m6h.php
 
 
Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.