Text Size

Three Satellites See Eruption of Puyehue-Cordón Volcano from Space
06.06.11
 
GOES-13 satellite image of the eruption of the Puyehue-Cordón Caulle volcano › View larger image
GOES-11 satellite image, taken on June 6 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT) from the farthest vantage point of any of the satellites, still showed the triangular-shaped plume, even from its position over the western U.S., despite the large distance. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

GOES-11 satellite image, taken on June 6 › View larger image
This image of the eruption of the Puyehue-Cordón Caulle volcano (left center), Chile was captured by the GOES-13 Satellite on June 6 at 14:45 UTC (10:45 a.m. EDT). The plume is blowing northeast, then turns toward the southeast and over the Atlantic Ocean. Credit: NASA/NOAA GOES Project, Dennis Chesters

MODIS image of the eruption of the Puyehue-Cordón Caulle volcano › View larger image
This image of the eruption of the Puyehue-Cordón Caulle volcano, Chile was captured by the MODIS instrument on NASA's Terra satellite on June 6 at 14:25 UTC (10:25 a.m. EDT). The volcano is to the left center of the image and the ash plume is blowing northeast, then turns to the southeast and moves over the Atlantic Ocean. Credit: NASA Goddard/MODIS Rapid Response Team
NASA's Terra Satellite, the GOES-13 and GOES-11 satellites all captured images of the ash plume from southern Chile's Puyehue-Cordón Volcano this week. The volcano is located in Puyehue National Park in the Andes of Ranco Province of Chile.

The Terra satellite flew over the volcano on June 6 at 14:25 UTC (10:25 a.m. EDT). The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument captured a visible image of the eruption that showed the large ash plume blowing northeast, then to the southeast and over the Atlantic Ocean. The ash plume went at least as high as six miles on June 4 when it erupted, according to CNN International. Some 3,500 people were evacuated.

The Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites called GOES-13 and GOES-11 also captured images of the volcano from a different vantage point in space that revealed the plume was visible from even farther away.

GOES-13 monitors the eastern U.S. and the Atlantic Ocean, while GOES-11 monitors the western U.S. and eastern Pacific Ocean. The GOES-11 satellite image, taken from the farthest vantage point of any of the satellites, still showed the triangular-shaped plume, even from its position over the western U.S., despite the large distance.

The GOES satellites are managed by NOAA, and imagery and animations are created with the GOES satellite data at NASA's GOES Project located at NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.
 
 
Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.