LOADING...
Text Size
Deep Space Maneuver
September 14, 2012
 

Artist's concept of Juno This computer-generated image depicts NASA's Juno spacecraft firing its Leros-1b main engine. Image credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/Eyes
› Full image and caption

Earlier today, NASA's Juno spacecraft executed a second Deep Space Maneuver. The maneuver began at approximately 3:30 p.m. PDT (6:30 p.m. EDT) today and ended at approximately 4:00 p.m. PDT (7:00 p.m. EDT). The burn occurred when Juno was more than 298 million miles (480 million kilometers) away from Earth. Preliminary telemetry from the spacecraft indicates that the burn was completed as planned. A more complete report on the maneuver should be available early next week, after the Juno mission team has an opportunity to analyze the spacecraft's maneuver performance.

NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif., manages the Juno mission for the principal investigator, Scott Bolton, of Southwest Research Institute in San Antonio. The Juno mission is part of the New Frontiers Program managed at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala. Lockheed Martin Space Systems, Denver, built the spacecraft. JPL is a division of the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena.

More information about Juno is online at http://www.nasa.gov/juno and http://missionjuno.swri.edu

 
 
Image Token: 
[image-47]
Image Token: 
[image-62]
Page Last Updated: August 8th, 2013
Page Editor: NASA Administrator