Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2011: Tropical Depression 25W (Western North Pacific Ocean)
12.05.11
 
This image TD25W was taken from the MODIS instrument on NASA's Terra satellite on Dec. 4 at 10:40 p.m. EST. › View larger image
This image of the remnant clouds of TD25W was taken from the MODIS instrument on NASA's Terra satellite on Dec. 4 at 10:40 p.m. EST. The clouds and remnant rains have spread over eastern Vietnam on , Dec. 5, 2011.
Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team
NASA Sees the Short life of Tropical Depression 25W

Tropical Depression 25W had a very short life in the western North Pacific. It was born on Dec. 4 and is dissipating today, Dec. 5 as it moves over Vietnam bringing clouds and showers with it.

Tropical Depression 25W (TD25W) made landfall early today as a remnant low pressure system, after forming yesterday in the South China Sea. The last official location of TD25W issued by the Joint Typhoon Warning Center was about 235 miles east-northeast of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, near 11.9 North latitude and 110.5 East longitude at 0300 UTC on Dec. 5 (10 p.m. EST on Dec. 4 EST). At that time, TD25W had maximum sustained winds near 25 knots (29 mph/46 kmh) and they were weakening.

Infrared imagery taken on December 4 at 2330 UTC (6:30 p.m. EST) showed an elongated tropical depression 25W. The low appeared to stretch from north to south. At that time, the system was located east of Vietnam over the South China Sea and moving to the northwest at 18 knots (21 mph/33 kmh). The remnants' clouds had moved into eastern Vietnam by 10:40 p.m. EST, Dec. 4 and were captured by the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument on NASA's Terra satellite at 10:40 p.m. EST. The remnants appeared as a large area of clouds that stretched from north to south over Vietnam.

By 1430 UTC (9:30 a.m. EST) on Dec. 5, the Joint Typhoon Warning Center noted that the center of circulation could not be located and the system was too weak to classify. Meanwhile, the remnants were stretched over Vietnam and were bringing light rain to Da Nang, Hue, and Truong Sa, Vietnam.

Text credit: Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.