Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2008: Tropical Storm Rosie (Indian Ocean)
04.22.08
 
April 22, 2008

Tropical Storm Rosie Forms in the Southern Indian Ocean

TRMM image of Tropical Storm Rosie > Larger image Credit: Hal Pierce (SSAI/NASA GSFC) Another Tropical Storm has been born in the very active Indian Ocean. Tropical Cyclone Rosie, also known as "28S" was packing maximum sustained winds near 45 knots and gusts to 55 knots.

On Tuesday morning at 9:00 UTC (5:00 a.m. EDT) April 22, 2008, Rosie was located near 11.6 degrees south latitude and 105.8 degrees east longitude, or 815 nautical miles northwest of Learmonth, Australia. Rosie was moving southeast at 10 knots.

The image above was made from data captured by the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite on Apr. 21 at 8:40 UTC (4:40 a.m. EDT). This TRMM image shows the horizontal pattern of rain intensity within Rosie. The center is located near the yellow, green and red areas, which indicate rainfall between 20 and 40 millimeters (.78 to 1.57 inches) per hour. The red area is considered moderate rainfall.

For more information about how TRMM looks at rainfall, visit NASA's TRMM website at: http://trmm.gsfc.nasa.gov/. TRMM is a joint mission between NASA and the Japanese space agency JAXA.

Text credit: Rob Gutro, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center