Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2008: Lola (Indian Ocean)
03.24.08
 


March 24, 2008

Short Life for Cyclone Lola Near Madagascar

Satellite image of Tropical Cyclone Lola Credit: NASA/JPL
> Larger image
Tropical Cyclone Lola formed before Easter and on Easter Monday, it's already fading out in the southern Indian Ocean, east of Madagascar.

On March 24 at 9:00 Zulu Time (5:00 a.m. EDT), Tropical Cyclone Lola, the 25th cyclone in the southern Indian Ocean was located about 395 nautical miles north of La Reunion Island near 15.0 degrees south latitude and 55.7 degrees east longitude. Lola has tracked north-northeastward at 5 knots (5 mph).

At that time, the winds of Lola were around 30 knots (34 mph) and the storm had a minimum central pressure of 999 millibars. An upper-level analysis indicates a wind shear of 25-30 knots (28-34 mph), which is helping to weaken Lola.

This infrared image of Lola was created on March 23 at 21:35 Zulu Time (5:35 p.m. EDT) with data from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS), an instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite. Lola is the spread-out purple and blue circular area located to the east of Madagascar.

This AIRS image shows the temperature of the cloud tops or the surface of the Earth in cloud-free regions. The lowest temperatures (in purple) are associated with high, cold cloud tops that make up the top of Lola. The infrared signal of the AIRS instrument does not penetrate through clouds. Where there are no clouds the AIRS instrument reads the infrared signal from the surface of the Earth, revealing warmer temperatures (red).

Text credit: Rob Gutro/NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center