Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2008: Tropical Storm Durga (Indian Ocean)
04.24.08
 
April 24, 2008

Tropical Storm Durga Forms in the Southern Indian Ocean

Tropical Storm Durga > Larger image Credit: NASA/JPL There's a new tropical storm in the southern Indian Ocean, and its name is Durga. Durga, or Tropical Cyclone 29S, was 150 nautical miles east-northeast off the Cocos Islands (11.1 degrees south latitude and 99.3 degrees east longitude) on Thursday, April 24, 2008 at 9:00 Universal Time (5:00 a.m. EDT).

Durga has maximum sustained winds near 35 knots (42 mph) with higher gusts. It's moving southeast near 9 knots (10 mph). Strong northeasterly winds are working against the storm, but warm ocean waters will allow it to maintain its circulation for the next half day. Forecasters at the Joint Typhoon Warning Center, however, note that by the end of the day Friday, Durga could dissipate.

This infrared image of Neoguri was created on April 24 at 7:23 UTC (3:23 a.m. EDT) by data from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS), an instrument that flies aboard NASA's Aqua satellite.

This AIRS image shows the temperature of the cloud tops or the surface of the Earth in cloud-free regions. The lowest temperatures (in purple) are associated with high, cold cloud tops that make up the top of Durga (shown as the circular purple area on this satellite image). The infrared signal of the AIRS instrument does not penetrate through clouds. Where there are no clouds the AIRS instrument reads the infrared signal from the surface of the Earth, revealing warmer temperatures (red).

Text credit: Rob Gutro, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center