Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2007: Tropical Depression 3-E (Eastern Pacific)
06.13.07
 
Tropical Depression Fades in the Eastern Pacific

After forming late Mon., Jun. 11, the eastern Pacific's third tropical depression of the season dissolved into a remnant low pressure system less than 36 hours later, by early Wed., Jun. 13.

At 11:00 p.m. EDT on Tues., Jun. 12 (0300 UTC on Wed., Jun. 13), fading tropical depression 3-E was located near 19.1 degrees north latitude and 115.0 degrees west longitude. Storm movement was toward the west-northwest at 8 knots (9 mph), while maximum sustained winds had decreased to near 25 knots (29 mph). Minimum central air pressure was estimated at 1007 millibars and was slowly rising, consistent with a weakening storm.

TRMM image of the tropical depression which formed and then quickly dissipated on June 14, 2007.
Click image to enlarge.
This image of tropical depression 3-E was taken by the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite at 7:35 a.m. EDT (1135 UTC) on Tues., Jun. 12, as the system was beginning to deteriorate. It shows a top-down-view of rain intensity. Just one large cluster of showers and thunderstorms remained with estimated rain rates of 25 to 45 millimeters (0.98 inches to 1.77 inches) per hour. TRMM is a joint mission between NASA and the Japanese space agency JAXA. Image credit: TRMM project. Storm summary: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center



New Tropical Depression Forms in the Eastern Pacific

The eastern Pacific's third tropical depression of the season formed Mon., Jun. 11. Following a short period of widespread and intense thunderstorm development, satellite imagery on the morning of Tues., Jun. 12, shows that much of the shower and thunderstorm activity has weakened while also decreasing in coverage.

The depression will be traveling over cooler ocean waters during the next 24 hours and forecasters believe any future intensification is unlikely, and it may dissolve into a remnant low pressure system by early Wed., Jun. 13.

At 5:00 a.m. EDT (0900 UTC) on Tues., Jun. 12, tropical depression 3-E was located near 17.7 degrees north latitude and 112.8 degrees west longitude. Movement was toward the northwest at 8 mph (7 knots). As an area low pressure off Baja California lifts eastward, the depression is expected to make a turn toward the west over the next day. Maximum sustained winds were near 35 mph (30 knots) with a minimum central air pressure was 1005 millibars.

Satellite image of a tropical depression taken on June 12, 2007


This visible satellite image of tropical depression 3-E was taken by the Geostationary Operational Environmental Satellites (GOES) at 10:00 a.m. EDT (1400 UTC) on Tues., Jun. 12. It shows a poorly organized system, despite several clusters of deep thick clouds (bumpy, bright white). Image credit: NOAA. Storm summary: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center.

 
 
Mike Bettwy
NASA Goddard Space Flight Center