Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2007: Nelson (Western Pacific)
02.07.07
 
A Weakened Nelson Makes Landfall in Australia

Tropical Cyclone Nelson was downgraded to a category one storm as it made landfall late Tue., Feb. 6, near the Cape York Peninsula in northeast Australia. While crew members on a barge off the Gulf of Carpentaria had been rescued by helicopter after being trapped by the storm, officials were not expecting any significant problems or damage on land.

At 10:00 p.m. EST on Tue., Feb. 6 (0300 UTC Feb. 7), Nelson was located near 17.1 degrees south latitude and 142.8 degrees east longitude, or about 200 miles west of Cairns, Australia, and was moving toward the east-southeast at 8 knots (9 mph). Maximum sustained winds were near 35 knots (40 mph), with gusts to 45 knots (52 mph).

Nelson will continue dissipating over land, but forecasters say the cyclone could re-generate once its center crosses the Queensland coast and re-emerges over water by early Thurs., Feb. 8.

Image of Tropical Cyclone Nelson


This satellite image shows Tropical Cyclone Nelson over Australia at 6:30 p.m. EST (2330 UTC) on Tues., Feb. 6. There were relatively few deep, thick clouds (bold white areas) near the cyclone's center (red marking), typical of a weakening system. Image credit: JTWC/SATOPS. Caption credit: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center

 
 
Mike Bettwy
Goddard Space Flight Center