Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2007: Indlala (Western Pacific)
03.13.07
 
Madagascar Hit by Fourth Tropical Cyclone of the Season

Tropical cyclone Indlala struck Madagascar around 8:00 a.m. EDT (1200 UTC) on Thurs., Mar. 15, with sustained winds of 84 knots (97 mph) and gusts over 104 knots (120 mph). Data from the U.S. Navy and Joint Typhoon Warning Center suggest that the point of landfall was near 15.2 degrees south latitude, and 48.2 degrees east longitude.

Heavy flooding continues to be a major threat in the populated and cultivated areas throughout northern Madagascar, where a wet rainy season has resulted in several major floods during the past few months. At 11:00 p.m. EDT on Thurs., Mar. 15 (0300 UTC on Fri., Mar. 16) tropical cyclone Indlala was about 180 miles north-northeast of Antananarivo, Madagascar, and was moving toward the southwest at 9 knots (10 mph). Maximum sustained winds were near 55 knots (63 mph), with gusts to 70 knots (81 mph).

Forecasters expect Indlala to continue weakening and become extratropical as it moves over more mountainous terrain. Recent satellite imagery shows that the amount of deep cloud cover and thunderstorms has decreased considerably over the past several hours, except along the northern side of the system. The remnants of Indlala may reemerge over ocean waters by Sat., Mar. 17, and will be closely monitored for reformation.

Aqua image of Tropical Cyclone Indlala


This photo-like image of tropical cyclone Indlala was taken by the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) instrument on NASA's Aqua satellite on Wed., Mar. 14 at 6:40 a.m. EDT (1040 UTC). At the time, Indlala was about 100 kilometers (62 miles) off Madagascar's northeast coast. The image shows a strong cyclone with a symmetrical shape and clear eye at its center. Maximum sustained winds were near 115 knots (132 mph). Image credit: MODIS Rapid Response Team/Goddard Space Flight Center. Caption credit: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center. + High resolution image (4.7 Mb)



New Tropical Cyclone Gaining Energy in the South Indian Ocean

The tropical cyclone season remains active in the Southern Hemisphere, with a new storm - Indlala - forming in the Indian Ocean.

At 11:00 p.m. EDT on Mon., Mar. 12 (0300 UTC on Tues., Mar. 13) tropical cyclone Indlala was located near 13.0 degrees south latitude and 54.9 degrees east longitude, or about 490 miles north of La Reunion, Australia, and was moving toward the west at 9 knots (10 mph). Maximum sustained winds were near 70 knots (81 mph), with gusts to 85 knots (98 mph). Maximum wave heights near the storm center were near 25 feet.

Indlala has recently intensified and accelerated in response to easterly winds associated with an area of high pressure to the southeast of Madagascar. The storm is forecast to continue moving westward before making a turn toward the south within the next 24 hours. The overall environmental conditions and wind patterns both within and surrounding the storm should promote gradual intensification through Thurs., Mar. 15, as it approaches Madagascar.

This image of tropical cyclone Indlala was taken by the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission satellite at 9:34 p.m. EDT on Mon., Mar. 12
Click image to enlarge

This image of tropical cyclone Indlala was taken by the Tropical Rainfall Measuring Mission (TRMM) satellite at 9:34 p.m. EDT on Mon., Mar. 12 (0134 UTC on Tues., Mar. 13). It shows a top-down-view of rain intensity and is consistent with a strengthening cyclone. Estimated rain rates of 30 to 40 millimeters (1.18 inches to 1.57 inches) per hour were common near Indlala's center, where organized "rain bands" were present. TRMM is a joint mission between NASA and the Japanese space agency JAXA. Caption credit: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center

 
 
Mike Bettwy
Goddard Space Flight Center