Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2007: Tropical Cyclone Dama (Indian)
12.19.07
 


Dec. 21, 2007

Tropical Storm Dama Fading in Indian Ocean

Satellite image of Dama remnants Credit: NASA/JPL
> Larger image
Tropical Storm Dama is the seventh tropical cyclone in the open waters of the southern Indian Ocean. By the weekend before Christmas, Dama was becoming extratropical and would fade away by Sunday, Dec. 23.

The final advisory issued by the Joint Typhoon Warning Center at 12:00 UTC (7:00 a.m. EST) noted that the center of Dama at that time was located at 21.4 degrees south latitude and 90.8 east longitude. At that time, maximum sustained winds were 35 knots (40 mph) and weakening.

This infrared image of Tropical Storm Dama was created by data from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) on NASA's Aqua satellite on Dec. 21 at 7:53 UTC (2:53 a.m. EST). Dama is the dark blue area on the lower right side of the image.
This AIRS image shows the temperature of the cloud tops or the surface of the Earth in cloud-free regions. The lowest temperatures (in purple) are associated with high, cold cloud tops that make up the top of Dama. The infrared signal does not penetrate through clouds. Where there are no clouds the AIRS instrument reads the infrared signal from the surface of the Earth, revealing warmer temperatures (red). This infrared image shows large areas of strong convection surrounding the core of the storm (in purple) surrounded by blue areas.

Text credit: Rob Gutro, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center



Dec. 19, 2007

Satellite image of Tropical Cyclone 07S Credit: NASA/JPL
> Larger image
Indian Ocean Jumping With Activity as Cyclone 07S Forms

Wed. Dec. 18 was a busy day in the Indian Ocean for cyclones. As Tropical Cyclone 06S, also known as Celia, was fading, the Ocean gave birth to its seventh tropical cyclone called "07S."

At 1500 Zulu Time (10:00 a.m. EST) on Dec. 18, Tropical Cyclone 07S was located near 13.5 degrees south latitude and 84.8 east longitude, approximately 820 nautical miles east-southeast of Diego Garcia. 07S had 35 knot (40 mph) winds and was moving west near 10 knots. It is forecast to continue tracking west for another 12 hours and intensify, then will likely turn south.

This infrared image from Dec. 17 at 8:17 UTC (3:17 a.m. EST) was created by data from the Atmospheric Infrared Sounder (AIRS) on NASA's Aqua satellite.

Cyclone 07S' clouds and rains are the blue and purple areas in the left portion of this image. This AIRS image shows the temperature of the cloud tops or the surface of the Earth in cloud-free regions. The lowest temperatures (in purple) are associated with high, cold cloud tops that make up the top of the storm. The infrared signal does not penetrate through clouds. Where there are no clouds the AIRS instrument reads the infrared signal from the surface of the Earth, revealing warmer temperatures (red).

Text Credit: Rob Gutro, NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center