Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2007: Arthur (Western Pacific)
01.24.07
 
Tropical Cyclone Arthur Fizzling Quickly Near Tahiti

Image of Tropical Cyclone Arthur


Much like his predecessor Zita, Tropical Cyclone Arthur is weakening rapidly in the South Pacific Ocean, just two days after reaching tropical storm strength.

At 10:00 p.m. EST (0300 UTC, Jan. 26) on Thurs., Jan. 25, Arthur was located near 20.4 degrees south latitude and 153.3 degrees west longitude, or about 255 miles west-northwest of Papeete, Tahiti, and was traveling south-southeast at 17 knots (20 mph). Maximum sustained winds were near 35 knots (40 mph), with gusts to 45 knots (52 mph).

Despite recent development of a few strong thunderstorms near the center of the cyclone, forecasters expect Arthur to become fully extratropical by late Fri., Jan. 26, as it becomes fully embedded in an approaching low-pressure system. Colder, drier air will soon overtake Arthur, preventing any possible re-intensification.

This multi-spectral satellite image shows Tropical Cyclone Arthur at 6:30 p.m. EST (2330 UTC) on Thurs., Jan. 25. The red marking indicates the storm center. The mass of clouds to the east of the cyclone is interacting with Arthur's circulation, causing it to weaken. Image Credit: JTWC/SATOPS. Caption credit: Mike Bettwy, Goddard Space Flight Center

As Zita Fades, Another Tropical Cyclone Quickly Forms

Expected track of Tropical Cyclone Arthur.


As Tropical Cyclone Zita weakens and transitions into an extratropical storm on Wed., Jan. 24 in the South Pacific Ocean, a new cyclone - Arthur - is developing in that same region.

At 10:00 a.m. EST (1500 UTC) on Wed., Jan. 24, Arthur was located near 15.1 degrees south latitude and 164.4 degrees west longitude, or about 300 miles east of Pago Pago, American Somoa, with a forward motion toward the east at 22 knots (25 mph). Maximum sustained winds were near 45 knots (52 mph), with gusts to 55 knots (63 mph).

Arthur has recently become much better organized, with thunderstorms wrapping around the cyclone's center of circulation. While conditions will remain favorable for strengthening over the next 12 hours, increasing wind shear (changing wind speed and direction with height) will likely begin to weaken Arthur within 24-36 hours.

This image shows the anticipated path and strength of Arthur over the next 48 hours. It indicates that Arthur should maintain tropical-storm strength. Previous cyclone positions are in black; forecast positions are in pink. Dashed lines outline the region ships are urged to avoid. Image credit: JTWC.



 
 
Mike Bettwy
Goddard Space Flight Center