Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2006: Soulik (Western Pacific)
10.11.06
 
Typhoon Soulik Forecast to Head into Northwestern Pacific Open Waters

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center calls for Typhoon Soulik to swing north-eastward and parallel Japan's coast over the weekend, as it heads into the open waters of the Northwestern Pacific Ocean.

At 1500 UTC (11:00 a.m. EDT) on Fri. Oct. 13, Typhoon Soulik was located approximately 55 nautical miles south-southwest of Iwo Jima, near latitude 23.9 north and longitude 141.0 east. Soulik has remained almost stationary over the past six hours. Soulik is a category two typhoon with maximum sustained winds of 90 knots (103 mph) and gusts to 110 knots (126 mph).

Tropical Storm Soulik image by Quikscat
Click image to enlarge.

This image from NASA's QuikSCAT satellite was captured on Mon., Oct. 9 at 0753 UTC (12:53 a.m. PDT). It depicts wind speed in color and wind direction with small barbs. White barbs point to areas of heavy rain. The highest wind speeds, shown in purple, surround the center of the storm.

The QuikSCAT scatterometer sends pulses of microwave energy through the atmosphere to the ocean surface, and measures the energy that bounces back from the wind-roughened surface. The energy of the microwave pulses changes depending on wind speed and direction, giving scientists a way to monitor wind around the world. Credits: Image -- Peter Falcon, NASA/JPL; Caption -- Rob Gutro, Goddard Space Flight Center



Tropical Storm Soulik Treads Open Waters in Western Pacific

Tropical Storm Soulik is currently in the open waters of the North West Pacific Ocean. "Soulik," prounounced " SOW-lick" is a name from Micronesia that is a traditional Pohnpei Chief's title.

At 1106 UTC (4:06 a.m. PDT) on Wed. Oct. 11, Tropical Storm Soulik was located approximately 400 nautical miles southeast of Iwo Jima near 20.5 north Latitude and 144.9 east Longitude. Soulik is moving to the west west-northwest at 16 knots (18 mph). Soulik's maximum sustained winds were near 60 knots (69 mph) with gusts to 75 knots (86 mph). Soulik is 5 mph shy of becoming a typhoon.

 
 
Rob Gutro
Goddard Space Flight Center
(from NHC Reports)