Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2006: Norman (Eastern Pacific)
10.11.06
 
Tropical Storm Norman Fades Quickly

After forming rapidly on Mon., Oct. 9, Norman weakened just as quickly and by late Tues., Oct. 10, satellite imagery showed the storm was a minimal tropical depression. Most of Norman's intense thunderstorms were shifted away from its center, likely due to strong southwesterly upper level winds. By late Wed., Oct. 11, the weakening trend had continued and forecasters expected any remnants of the storm to quickly dissipate.

At 8:00 p.m. PDT (0300 UTC) on Wed., Oct. 11, tropical depression Norman was located near 16.8 degrees north latitude and 117.1 degrees west longitude. Maximum sustained winds were near 25 knots (29 mph) with gusts to 35 knots (40 mph). Movement was east-northeast near 6 knots (7 mph) with an estimated central pressure of 1008 millibars.



Twin Tropical Storms Form in the Eastern Pacific

Hurricane season in the eastern Pacific Ocean marches on. The week of Oct. 9 saw the birth of two more tropical cyclones, Norman and Olivia. Both are headed east toward Mexico.

GOES image of Tropical storm Olivia and Norman in the Pacific
Click image to enlarge

This image was created from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) Geostationary Environmental Operational Satellite (GOES) on Oct. 10 at 6:45 a.m. PDT (1345 UTC).

Tropical Storm Norman

Tropical Storm Norman was born on Mon. Oct. 9 and was first reported by the National Hurricane Center (NHC) at 9:00 p.m. PDT. By 8:00 a.m. PDT (1500 UTC) on Oct. 10, Norman's center was located near 17.0 degrees north latitude and 117.9 west longitude, south-southwest of Mexico's Baja California. Norman is creeping along at 3 knots (3 mph), with maximum sustained winds of 40 knots (46 mph) and gusts to 50 knots (57 mph). Norman's estimated minimum central pressure is 1002 millibars.

The NHC noted in their Oct. 10 report that shortwave infrared satellite images and an image from the Special Sensor Microwave Imager instrument suggest that Norman is beginning to weaken from a wind shear (upper level winds that can weaken tropical storms) from southwesterly winds. Those winds are pushing some of the storm's convection (rising air that forms thunderstorms and rain) slightly north-northeast of the storm's center. Whenever convection moves away from the center, the storm typically weakens.

 
 
Rob Gutro
Goddard Space Flight Center
(from NHC Reports)