Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

Featured Images

Text Size

Hurricane Season 2006: Miriam (Eastern Pacific)
09.18.06
 
Tropical Depression Miriam Quickly Fading

GOES satellite shows Tropical Storm Miriam on September 18, 2006.
Click image to enlarge


This image of tropical depression Miriam (formerly a tropical storm) was captured by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration's (NOAA) Geostationary Environmental Operational Satellite (GOES) at 9:15 a.m. PDT (1615 UTC) on Sept. 18. This data was processed by NASA's GOES Project Science Office at the Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md.

Just two days after reaching tropical storm strength in the eastern Pacific, Miriam has weakened into a tropical depression and is expected to fade into a remnant low pressure system later today. Its large, low-level cloud swirl will traverse cooler waters and encounter a dry stable environment, unfavorable for development.

As of 11:00 a.m. EDT (1500 UTC) on Mon., Sept. 18, the center of tropical depression Miriam was located near latitude 20.1 north, longitude 113.8 west in the eastern Pacific Ocean. Maximum sustained winds were near 30 mph and the forward motion was toward the north-northwest near 6 mph. This general motion was expected to continue before turning to the northeast and accelerating within two days. The estimated minimum central pressure had risen to 1005 millibars. Miriam's remnants are expected to make landfall on Mexico's Baja California by early Wed. Sept. 20.

The National Hurricane Center noted that the 11:00 a.m. advisory would be the last one unless Miriam regenerates. Further information on Miriam's remnants can now be found at the website: + National Weather Service's High Seas Forecast Credit: Image: NASA GSFC/NOAA -- Caption: Mike Bettwy, RSIS/Goddard Space Flight Center