News Releases

Steve Cole
Headquarters, Washington
202-358-0918
stephen.e.cole@nasa.gov
 
Guy Webster / DC Agle
Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif.
818-354-6278 / 818-393-9011
guy.webster@jpl.nasa.gov / agle@jpl.nasa.gov
Aug. 13, 2012
 
MEDIA ADVISORY : M12-151
 
 
NASA Hosts Teleconference About Curiosity Rover Progress
 
 
WASHINGTON -- NASA will host a media teleconference at 1 p.m. EDT (10 a.m. PDT), Aug. 14, to provide a status update on the Curiosity rover's mission to Mars' Gale Crater.

The Mars Science Laboratory spacecraft delivered Curiosity to its target area on Mars at 1:31 a.m. EDT, Aug. 6 (10:31 p.m. PDT, Aug. 5). Mission controllers at NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, Calif., spent last week beginning initial checks of Curiosity's 10 instruments and updating software for its two-year mission to investigate whether conditions have been favorable for microbial life and preserving clues in the rocks about possible past life.

For teleconference dial-in information, reporters must send their name, media affiliation and telephone number to Elena Mejia at elena.mejia@jpl.nasa.gov or call the JPL media office at 818-354-5011.

Audio of the event will be streamed live online at:

http://www.nasa.gov/newsaudio


For more information about NASA's Curiosity mission, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/mars


and


http://marsprogram.jpl.nasa.gov/msl

 

- end -


text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to hqnews-subscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov. To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to hqnews-unsubscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov.

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage