Follow this link to skip to                                      the main content

NASA News

Text Size

Gretchen Cook-Anderson/Donald Savage
Headquarters, Washington
(Phone: 202/358-0836/1727;
AGU Press Phone: 415/905-1007)

Dec. 8, 2004
 
MEDIA ADVISORY : M04-200
 
 
NASA Announces Science News Conferences at AGU Fall Meeting
 
 
NASA researchers will present findings on a variety of Earth and Space science topics at the American Geophysical Union (AGU) Fall Meeting in San Francisco, Dec. 13-17.

NASA press conferences are in the Moscone Convention Center West, Room MCC 2012. Three of the press conferences offer call in questions from reporters. For assistance on the teleconferences call Sarah Dewitt at: 301/286-0535.

PRESS CONFERENCE: RELATIONSHIPS BETWEEN CLIMATE CHANGE, TREES, AND INSECTS: Monday, Dec. 13 at 1 p.m. EST (10 a.m. PST). Insect control and tree planting could greatly affect Earth's greenhouse gases, according to NASA scientists who will present their findings.

PRESS CONFERENCE: LATEST FINDINGS FROM NASA'S DURABLE MARS ROVERS: Monday, Dec. 13 at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST). NASA's twin Mars Exploration Rovers are exploring the martian atmosphere, and how water shaped the landscape, targeting the Endurance Crater and Columbia Hills.

PRESS CONFERENCE: NASA'S ICESAT MISSION: NEW LIGHT ON A CHANGING WORLD: Monday, Dec. 13 at 7 p.m. EST (4 p.m. PST). NASA's Ice, Cloud, and land Elevation Satellite's (ICESat) precise measurements of Earth's ice sheets, atmosphere, land masses and volcanoes provide a unique means of exploring our planet in three dimensions. Scientists will present the latest observations and discuss how they are revolutionizing our understanding of important processes in the Earth System.

OFF-SITE PRESS CONFERENCE: DEEP IMPACT MISSION: Tuesday, Dec. 14 at 1 p.m. EST (10 a.m. PST). At NASA Headquarters, Washington, the event will be simulcast in the AGU Press Briefing Room. The Deep Impact spacecraft is designed to launch a copper projectile into the surface of Comet Tempel 1 on July 4, 2005, when the comet is 83 million miles from Earth. Note: media attending AGU will be able to ask questions.

PRESS CONFERENCE: AURA SHEDS NEW LIGHT ON AIR POLLUTION & OZONE HOLE: Tuesday, Dec. 14 at 2 p.m. EST (11 a.m. PST). NASA's Aura satellite made the first direct global measurements of low-level ozone and other pollutants affecting air quality. Learn how Aura will help track sources of pollution and lead to better air quality forecasts. REMOTE CALL IN: USA: 1/888/458-9977; International +1/210/234-8001; Passcode: AGU

PRESS CONFERENCE: REDUCTION OF ICE COVER AT HIGH LATITUDES: Tuesday, Dec.14 at 7 p.m. EST (4 p.m. PST) Scientists will present findings on dramatic changes in high-latitude glaciers and ice sheets. They will discuss newly discovered relationships between ice sheets and glaciers, climate change and sea level. REMOTE CALL IN: USA: 1/888/458-9977; International +1/210/234-8001; Passcode: AGU

PRESS CONFERENCE: EARTH'S SAFE ZONE BECAME HOT ZONE DURING LEGENDARY SOLAR STORMS: Wednesday, Dec. 15 at 12 p.m. EST (9 a.m. PST) A region thought of as a safe zone for Earth-orbiting spacecraft contained fierce radiation during record-breaking solar storms during the fall of 2003. Space physics experts will discuss this event and its important implications to all who want to develop the final frontier, from multi-billion dollar satellite corporations to spacewalking astronauts. REMOTE CALL IN: USA: 1/888/458-9977; International +1/630/395-0023; Passcode: AGU

PRESS CONFERENCE: REFORMING GEOSCIENCE EDUCATION & BROADENING PARTICIPATION: Wednesday, Dec. 15 at 6 p.m. EST (3 p.m. PST) "Touch the Sun" is the first book to present images of the sun to blind and vision-impaired students. Author Noreen Grice will discuss the book, which features images from NASA's SOHO and TRACE solar-observing spacecraft.

SCIENCE WRITERS WORKSHOP: KEEPING IT CLEAN IN SOLAR SYSTEM EXPLORATION: A PLANETARY PROTECTION: Thursday, Dec. 16, 2:00 to 3:30 p.m. EST (11 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. PST). The workshop will provide the latest information about planetary protection, such as avoiding biological contamination in space exploration. Learn how it will affect future robotic and human exploration missions, and discover why NASA crashed the Galileo spacecraft into Jupiter.

PRESS CONFERENCE: CASSINI: LATEST RESULTS: Thursday Dec. 16 at 6 p.m. EST (3 p.m. PST). This briefing features the newest information from Cassini fly bys of Saturn's moons Titan-b and Dione.

For more information about NASA at the AGU meeting on the Internet, visit:

http://www.nasa.gov/vision/earth/lookingatearth/AGU_news.html

 

- end -


text-only version of this release

NASA press releases and other information are available automatically by sending a blank e-mail message to hqnews-subscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov. To unsubscribe from this mailing list, send a blank e-mail message to hqnews-unsubscribe@mediaservices.nasa.gov.

Back to NASA Newsroom | Back to NASA Homepage