Feature

Text Size

Desert RATS 2011 Education and Public Outreach Activities and Events
08.31.11
 

Send the DRATS team your questions!
› Twitter
› Facebook

This schedule will be updated as additional DRATS activities are added.

Skip to: Sept. 6 | Sept. 7 | Sept. 8 | Sept. 9

Tuesday, Sept. 6

Live streaming from the field on Tuesday is cancelled due to weather! Operations resume on Wednesday.

TimeEvent TypeDescriptionLink
1pm Eastern
10am Pacific
MyMoon Live WebcastJoin Desert RATS crewmember Jacob Bleacher for a MyMoon discussion during the field test. Jake will discuss the hardware and protocols that the team have tested and will answer questions about the Desert RATS test and objectives.LPI site

Wednesday, Sept. 7

TimeEvent TypeDescriptionLink
12pm Eastern
9am Pacific
Good morning from ArizonaWatch the video as a Desert RATS team member discusses the day's activities and prepares to head out to the field.Facebook
12-1pm Eastern
9-10am Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video from Test Day 8 as two crew members explore with the Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) and one works in the Deep Space Habitat (DSH).UStream
5pm Eastern
2pm Pacific
KSC Visitor Center Q&A SessionThe Kennedy Space Center visitor complex will host a Skype session, allowing visitors to ask questions to the crew in the field.UStream
4pm Eastern
1pm Pacific
Midday Video BlogDesert RATS team members answer your questions from Facebook and TwitterYouTube
4:45-5:45pm Eastern
1:45-2:45pm Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video from Test day 7 as two Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) perform exploration activities with two crew members on each vehicle.UStream

Thursday, Sept. 8

TimeEvent TypeDescriptionLink
12pm Eastern
9am Pacific
Good morning from ArizonaWatch the video as a Desert RATS team member discusses the day's activities and prepares to head out to the field.Facebook
12-1pm Eastern
9-10am Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video from Test Day 8 as two crew members explore with the Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) and one works in the Deep Space Habitat (DSH).UStream
1:15pm Eastern
10:15am Pacific
North Carolina Museum of Natural Science Q&ACrew member Jake Bleacher will connect with the North Carolina Museum for a Q&A sessionUStream
1:45pm Eastern
10:45am Pacific
JSC Distance Learning Network eventDistance Learning Network Q&A event with 4th and 5th grade teachers from Exploration Place in Wichita, KSUStream
2:30pm Eastern
11:30am Pacific
JSC Distance Learning Network eventDistance Learning Network Q&A event with 2nd graders from the Clark Davidson Elementary School in Goddard, KSUStream
4pm Eastern
1pm Pacific
Midday Video BlogDesert RATS team members answer your questions from Facebook and TwitterYouTube
4:45-5:45pm Eastern
1:45-2:45pm Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video from Test Day 3 as crew members explore with the Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) and work in the Deep Space Habitat (DSH).UStream
6pm Eastern
3pm Pacific
Penn Manor High School Q&ACrew member Jake Bleacher will connect with Dave Bender and his class at Penn Manor High School.UStream

Friday, Sept. 9

TimeEvent TypeDescriptionLink
12pm Eastern
9am Pacific
Good morning from ArizonaWatch the video as a Desert RATS team member discusses the day's field activitiesFacebook
12-1pm Eastern
9-10am Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video from Test Day 4 as crew members drive the Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) and work in the Deep Space Habitat (DSH)UStream
1:45pm Eastern
10:45am Pacific
JSC Distance Learning Network eventDistance Learning Network Q&A event with the 12th grade class from East Stroudsburg North High School in East Stroudsburg, PAUStream
4pm Eastern
1pm Pacific
Midday Video BlogDesert RATS team members answer your questions from Facebook and TwitterYouTube
4:45-5:45pm Eastern
1:45-2:45pm Pacific
Live webcast from the fieldWatch live streaming video as three crew members explore using the Space Exploration Vehicle (SEV) and work in the Deep Space Habitat (DSH)UStream