LOADING...
Text Size
Wali (Central Pacific)
July 21, 2014

[image-92]Tropical Storm Wali No More, But Remnants Soaked Hawaii

On July 19, NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center noted that Wali didn't even make it to the Big Island, but moisture associated with the storm did. NOAA's GOES-West satellite captured an image of the remnant low southwest of the Big Island, and a moisture stream that extended over it.

That remnant moisture was enough to cause the local National Weather Service office to issue an early morning flash flood watch on July 19. An infrared image from NOAA's GOES-West satellite showed the moisture stream as a diagonal line of clouds extending from what was the center of the remnants of Wali. During the afternoon, the National Weather Service issued a flood advisory for the eastern half of the island as a result of thunderstorms that generated heavy rainfall.

The CPHC said "The moisture moving over the Big Island today (July 19) is ahead of the actual low level remnants of Wali. The low level remnants of Wali remain more than 500 miles southwest of the Big Island this evening. That being said, the tropical moisture over the Big Island today, and the remnants of Wali are associated, and it is this combination of features that will keep the threat of heavy rain and thunderstorms over and near the islands for the next 48 hours."

More tropical moisture is moving over Hawaii today, July 21,  and that triggered another flash flood watch for all of the Hawaiian Islands. The Flash Flood Watch remains in effect until 6 p.m. Hawaii Standard Time on July 21. At 3:05 a.m. HST (9:05 a.m. EDT) on July 21, the National Weather Service in Honolulu noted "atmospheric conditions continue to be favorable for locally heavy rain to develop due to the presence of an upper level trough near the islands and ample tropical moisture. The potential for flash flooding remains elevated."

Text credit:  Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center


[image-51][image-78]July 18, 2014 - NASA Satellite Catches Birth of Tropical Storm Wali Near Hawaii

The first tropical cyclone of the season has formed in the Central Pacific Ocean as NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead. Tropical Storm Wali formed southeast of the Big Island of Hawaii, and now that it's nearing, a Flash Flood Watch has been posted for all of the islands. 

NASA's Terra satellite passed over Wali on July 17 at 19:55 UTC (3:55 p.m. EDT) just as it was being classified as Tropical Depression 1C. NOAA's Central Pacific Hurricane Center (CPHC) issued an advisory at 5 p.m. EDT (11 a.m. HST) announcing the birth of the depression near 12.7 north and 140.7 west with maximum sustained winds near 35 mph (55 kph). When NASA's Terra satellite passed overhead, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectrometer (MODIS) took a visible picture of the storm and it appeared somewhat elongated.

One hour after its birth as a tropical depression (2200 UTC/6 p.m. EDT/12 p.m. HDT) Tropical Depression 1C became Tropical Storm Wali as maximum sustained winds ramped up to 45 mph (75 kph).   

On July 18 at 0900 UTC (5 a.m. EDT/July 17 at 11 p.m. HST/)   Tropical Storm Wali's maximum sustained winds remained near 45 mph (75 kph), and the CPHC noted that slight strengthening is possible for the next day before a weakening trend begins. Wali was located near latitude 14.1 north, longitude 141.6 west, about 970 miles (1,565 km) east-southeast of Hilo, Hawaii. Wali was moving toward the northwest near 12 mph (19 kph) and CPHC expects Wali to continue in that direction until it makes a slight turn toward the west on Saturday. The estimated minimum central pressure is 1003 millibars. 

The National Weather Service (NWS) in Honolulu issued a Flash Flood Watch for the Hawaiian Islands from Saturday night (July 19) through Monday (July 21). The NWS noted "deep tropical moisture combined with an upper level trough will bring the threat of heavy rain and thunderstorms from Saturday night through Monday. Enhanced showers will reach the windward Big Island and Maui Saturday night, and the rest of the state Sunday."

The CPHC expects Wali to maintain tropical storm status until late Saturday, July 19, when it is expected to weaken to a depression. Increasing vertical wind shear, cooler sea surface temperatures and drier air that is expected to move into Wali are three factors that will contribute to weakening the storm as it approaches the Big Island. However, heavy rainfall is expected to affect the Hawaiian islands later this weekend as the current forecast track for Wali takes it on a path toward the Big Island of Hawaii late Sunday, July 20 or early Monday, July 21.

Text credit:  Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Image Token: 
[image-36]
Tropical Depression 1C that turned into Wali
When NASA's Terra satellite passed Tropical Depression 1C on July 17 at 3:55 p.m. EDT, the storm and it appeared somewhat elongated.
Image Credit: 
NASA Goddard MODIS Rapid Response Team
Image Token: 
[image-51]
Youtube Override: 
x5Jk69z6P-0
This animation of infrared and visible imagery from NOAA's GOES-West satellite from July 15 to 18 shows the birth of Tropical Storm Wali southeast of the Big Island of Hawaii on July 17.
Image Credit: 
NASA/NOAA GOES Project
Image Token: 
[image-78]
GOES image of Wali's remnants
This infrared image from NOAA's GOES-West satellite on July 19 showed the moisture stream as a diagonal line of clouds extending from what was the center of the remnants of Wali.
Image Credit: 
NOAA
Image Token: 
[image-92]
Image Token: 
[image-62]
Page Last Updated: July 21st, 2014
Page Editor: Lynn Jenner