LOADING...
Text Size
Nari (Northwestern Pacific Ocean)
October 10, 2013

Typhoon Nari Makes Landfall in Philippines and Vietnam [image-51]

On Oct. 9, the twenty-fourth tropical depression of the northwestern Pacific Ocean season was born. It formed about 488 nautical miles east of Manila, Philippines, near 14.4 north and 129.4 east. It had maximum sustained winds near 30 knots/34.5 mph/55.5 kph and was moving west at 9 knots/10.3 mph/16.6 kph toward the Philippines.

On Oct. 10, the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer instrument that flies aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured a visible image of Nari at 0235 UTC/10:35 p.m. EDT, Oct. 9. Although Nari did not show an eye at the time it later strengthened into a typhoon.

Tropical Depression 24W moved west and intensified to typhoon force before making landfall in Luzon. According to CNN, 13 people died and more than 43,000 people were displaced in 11 provinces as Nari raked over the northern Philippines on Oct. 12. After it crossed the Philippines it moved into the South China Sea where it re-strengthened.

By October 13, Nari had become a typhoon and was approaching central Vietnam. At 2100 UTC/5 p.m. EDT, Nari's maximum sustained winds were near 85 knots/97/8 mph/157.4 kph. It was centered near 15.6 north and 111.2 east, about 192 nautical miles east of Da Nang, Vietnam and moving west at 9 knots/10/3 mph/16.6 kph. Nari was generating waves as high as 32 feet/9.7 meters in the South China Sea upon its approach.

The Joint Typhoon Warning Center forecast Nari to make landfall just south of Hue, Vietnam on Oct. 14 at typhoon strength.

On Oct. 15 at 0300 UTC, Nari had maximum sustained winds near 70 knots/80/5 mph/129.6 kph as it made landfall in central Vietnam. Nari was located near 15.8 north and 107.7 east, just 8 nautical miles south of Da Nang, Vietnam, has tracked westward at 10 knots. A satellite image from NASA's TRMM satellite on Oct. 14 at 23:26 UTC/ 7:26 p.m. EDT showed that the center of Nari moved ashore in central Vietnam.  The cyclone dissipated as it tracked inland.

Text credit:  Rob Gutro
NASA's Goddard Space Flight Center

Image Token: 
[image-36]
Typhoon Nari
The MODIS instrument aboard NASA's Terra satellite captured this image of Typhoon Nari on Oct. 10 at 0235 UTC as it neared the Philippines.
Image Credit: 
NASA MODIS Rapid Response Team
Image Token: 
[image-51]
Page Last Updated: November 5th, 2013
Page Editor: Lynn Jenner