Kennedy News

Text Size

 
 

George H. Diller                                                                                                                  July 7, 2004
Kennedy Space Center, Fla.
(Phone: 321/867-2468)

KSC Release No. 51-04

Launch Advisory:
AURA Postponed 24 Hours To July 11

The launch of NASA's Aura spacecraft atop a Boeing Delta II rocket has been postponed by at least 24 hours to Sunday, July 11 at 6:01:57 a.m. EDT (3:01:57 a.m. PDT).

Earlier this week, engineers began reviewing whether suspect transistors affecting an unrelated non-NASA mission may be aboard the Aura satellite and Delta II booster and if this could have any effect on the mission. Today, the Flight Readiness Review was reconvened. Spacecraft engineers decided that an additional day was needed to complete their review, though it was determined that there is not concern with the Delta II booster.

The live, interactive Aura webcast on NASA Direct! will continue as scheduled on Thursday, July 8, at 5:30 p.m. EDT (2:30 p.m. PDT).

The prelaunch press conference has been rescheduled to Friday, July 9, at 3 p.m. EDT (noon PDT) in the main conference room of the NASA Resident Office at Vandenberg Air Force Base and will be carried live on NASA Television. Media covering the press conference should meet at the Vandenberg south gate on California State Road 246 at 11:30 a.m.

On launch day, July 11, programming on NASA Television will begin at 4 a.m. EDT (1 a.m. PDT) with the start of cryogenic fueling of the Delta II. The launch commentary will begin at 4:30 a.m. EDT (1:30 a.m. PDT).

Media desiring to participate in the photo opportunity for rollback of the Mobile Service Tower at Space Launch Complex 2 should be at the main gate of Vandenberg Air Force Base on California State Road 1 at 5 p.m. Saturday, July 10. Media covering the launch should be at the main gate at 2 a.m. Sunday, July 11, to be escorted to the Delta press site on north Vandenberg Air Force Base.

Media attending the press conference or the launch are asked to call Air Force Lt. Michelle Mayo at 805/606-3595 in the 30th Space Wing Public Affairs Office.

An Aura recorded launch status for the news media is available by dialing 805-734-2693.

 

- end -


text-only version of this release

To receive status reports and news releases issued from the Kennedy Space Center Newsroom electronically, send a blank e-mail message to ksc-subscribe@newsletters.nasa.gov. To unsubscribe, send a blank e-mail message to ksc-unsubscribe@newsletters.nasa.gov. The system will confirm your request via e-mail.