Education

Video Chat: New Journey to Jupiter
05.27.10
 
artist concept of Juno MissionNASA/JPL engineer Tracy Drain will discuss the Juno Mission to Jupiter during a live webcast on Thurs., June 3. Image credit: NASA/JPL Get ready to go to the solar system's biggest planet! NASA is launching a new robotic mission to Jupiter in 2011. Classrooms are invited to join NASA/JPL engineer Tracy Drain as she discusses why NASA is sending the Juno spacecraft to Jupiter, how it will get there and what it will study. The conversation will be geared to students in grades 6 through 8.

The watch the live web chat on June 3, 2010 at 1 p.m. Eastern/10 a.m. Pacific, go to http://dln.nasa.gov/dln/content/webcast/dlnstreaming.jsp .

Tracy will be speaking live via video with a classroom in southern California. All classrooms may participate by emailing questions before or during the live chat for Tracy to answer. Possible topics to consider for questions are the sizes and distances of planets, planet formation and space travel. Teachers can email questions to jplspaceeducation@gmail.com . Questions sent in advance should be emailed by Tuesday, June 1 at 6 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Pacific. Due to volume, we cannot guarantee that every question will be answered.

For more information about the Juno Mission, go to http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/juno/main/index.html .