Search Johnson

Go

Johnson News

Text Size

4 p.m. CST, Thursday, March 21, 2002
Expedition 4 Crew
03.21.02
 
STATUS REPORT : ISS02-16
 
 
International Space Station Status Report #02-16
 
 
An unpiloted Russian Progress resupply craft was successfully launched today from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan to bring food, fuel and supplies to the residents on board the International Space Station.

The Progress 7 spacecraft lifted off on a Soyuz booster rocket at 2:13 p.m. CST (2013 GMT) and less than 10 minutes later safely settled into orbit. Automatic programmed commands enabled its solar arrays and navigational antennas to deploy. At the time of launch, the ISS and the Expedition Four crew, Commander Yury Onufrienko and Flight Engineers Carl Walz and Dan Bursch, were traveling over Africa out of the line of sight of the launch itself.

A series of rendezvous burns from the new Progress’ engines over the next three days will result in a docking by the craft to the aft port of the Zvezda Service Module on Sunday at 2:55 p.m. CST (2055 GMT) over Central Asia. That port was vacated on Tuesday when the previous Progress resupply vehicle undocked and was deorbited to a destructive re-entry back into Earth’s atmosphere.

Information on the crew’s activities aboard the space station, future launch dates, as well as station sighting opportunities from anywhere on the Earth, is available on the Internet at:

http://spaceflight.nasa.gov

Details on station science operations can be found on an Internet site administered by the Payload Operations Center at NASA's Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Ala., at:

http://www.scipoc.msfc.nasa.gov

The next ISS status report will be issued March 24 following the docking of the Progress 7 resupply vehicle, or sooner, if developments warrant.
 

- end -


text-only version of this release