Search Johnson

Go

Johnson News

Text Size

Wednesday, June 19, 2002, 3 a.m. CDT
06.19.02
 
STATUS REPORT : STS-111-29
 
 
STS-111 Mission Control Center Status Report # 29
 
 

Endeavour's crewmembers, Commander Ken Cockrell, Pilot Paul Lockhart, and Mission Specialists Philippe Perrin and Franklin Chang-Diaz, and Expedition 4's Yury Onufrienko, Carl Walz and Dan Bursch, were awakened at 1:23 a.m. CDT by the song "I Got You Babe," by Sonny and Cher, from the "Groundhog Day" movie soundtrack.

For a second day, rain, thundershowers and clouds around the Kennedy Space Center in Florida caused flight controllers to wave off Tuesday's opportunities to bring Endeavour and its crew home.

Similar weather Monday resulted in a wave-off of those landing opportunities. Wednesday offers two landing opportunities at KSC and three at Edwards Air Force Base in California. Forecasters are predicting improving weather at both sites. Endeavour has enough consumables on board to remain in orbit until Thursday.

The first of the KSC landing attempts would begin with a deorbit burn at 8:44 a.m. and a landing at 9:53 a.m. CDT (10:53 a.m. EDT). A second opportunity for a Florida landing would see the deorbit burn at 10:19 a.m. and a landing at 11:27 a.m. CDT (12:27 p.m. EDT).

The first of the three subsequent opportunities at Edwards would begin with a deorbit burn at 11:50 a.m. and a landing at 12:58 p.m. CDT (10:58 a.m. PDT). The deorbit burn for the second attempt would be at 1:27 p.m. and a landing at 2:33 p.m. CDT (12:33 p.m. PDT). The third opportunity would see a deorbit burn at 3:06 p.m. and a landing at 4:11 p.m. CDT (2:11 p.m. PDT).

All continues to go smoothly aboard the International Space Station in the early days of Expedition 5's residency. Commander Valery Korzun, and Flight Engineers Peggy Whitson and Sergei Treschev are activating equipment, initiating scientific experiments and getting used to the space station environment and routines.

The next STS-111 status report will be issued after landing or as events warrant.

 

- end -


text-only version of this release